skip navigation

WCLL D2

Regular Season 2016-2017 Season
2016-2017 Season x Regular Season

2017 WCLL DI CHAMPS UNIVERSITY OF PITTSBURGH


2017 WCLL DII CHAMPS GRAND VALLEY STATE UNIVERSITY

PITT, GRAND VALLEY WIN 2017 WCLL LEAGUE LAX CHAMPIONSHIPS


UNIVERSITY OF PITTSBURGH HEAD COACH GARY NEFT RECEIVES TITLE TROPHY FROM WCLL VICE PRESIDENT CHRIS CARTER.


GRAND VALLEY PRESIDENT BEKAH SUTTNER RECEIVES TITLE TROPHY FROM WCLL VICE PRESIDENT CHRIS CARTER.

WCLA POST SEASON AWARDS FORMS ARE NOW AVAILABLE

    LAS VEGAS - The 2017 WCLA season is coming to a close in the next few weeks and teams that have an interest in honoring intercollegiate club lacrosse players for their stellar play on the field and their prowess in the classroom can use the league forms for nominations. The nomination forms are on the front page of the WCLA website.

   The WCLA will honor For The Love of the Game nominations, awarded to an individual for their dedication or passion to the league or sport. The league will hand out awards for academic excellence, for Player of the Year, WCLA All American nominations and the WCLA Jenn Eames Team Award nomination, which honors a league team for promoting their club and the sport at a high level.

   The WCLA All-Academic Nomination form should be submitted to the divisional recognition chair before April 15, 2017 with an unofficial transcript. League officials said that any applicant should read the instructions carefully before submitting their request. The final deadlines will be updated soon, league officials said.

WCLL begins its 22th year of competition in the WCLA

     Welcome to the Women's Collegiate Lacrosse League (WCLL), an intercollegiate club lacrosse organization, divided into two divisions, that represents 59 universities and colleges that stretch a geographic region from as far east as New York and west to Missouri and from the Canadian border to Kentucky. The WCLL, the largest club league in the continental United States, is beginning our 22nd year of competition and we look forward to serving the many student-athletes in our conference. In the WCLL's long tenure, we have experienced the growth of womens' club lacrosse, whether watching a university club program transform into an NCAA scholarship opportunity or just witnessing a smaller club team enjoy the fruits of friendship, while competing in a shared experience. The WCLL's historical landscape is scattered with a number of successes and we're hopeful the trend will continue in 2017. We believe in our mission and fully support US Lacrosse and all that they represent. Our basic mission is simple:

WCLL MISSION STATEMENT

   The mission of the Women's Collegiate Lacrosse Association (WCLL) is to develop the athletic opportunities of its participants, nourish the educational challenges of scholastic life and enhance the collegiate experience. We should strive to provide our student-athletes with a positive and creative outlet for their athletic hopes and serve our membership because we believe that fellowship and sportsmanship have value. If you are interested in learning more about our WCLL or the Womens' College Lacrosse Association (WCLA), our national organization, please contact WCLL League President League President Greg Normand at 1.248.425-2849 or gnormand7@att.net.

WCLLLACROSSE@GMAIL.COM IS LEAGUE WEB ADDRESS

   For any correspondence for the WCLL governing board, please use the email address wclllacrosse@gmail.com. If contacting an individual in the league, please use the separate personal email addresses that are highlighted on the website. 

NEW REG RULES FOR POST-SEASON HONORS

By Al Capone

   COLUMBUS - The chance to make All-Conference in the Women's Collegiate Lacrosse League (WCLL) has changed to be more inclusive, said members of the WCLL executive committee. The organizing committee voted unanimously in February to change the rules for post season honors.

   The new rules will include less entries from each team, more scrutiny from a larger viewing audience and a higher degree of publicity for those WCLL honorees looking for a national audience at the WCLA level.

   The first of the new rules includes that no member-WCLL team can nominate more than eight players for post-season honors, regardless of the overall entries. Each team can submit eight names, which includes their individual stats from the WCLA national website, a national requirement this year. The All Conference entries will be sent to Michigan head coach Dave McKinnon for Division I and Kim Crum, Western Michigan's head coach, for Division II.

   "As an organizing committee, we just thought it made more sense to cut down the number of applications a specific team could enter. I know there are a lot of teams that don't submit entries, but this was one way for each team to have a better shot. It made no sense to me for a specific team to enter a dozen or so entries because other teams passed. I think that cheapens the process," said WCLL president, Greg Normand.

   Normand said entries will be sent to the respective recognition chairs, who will then share that information with two members of the WCLL board, to ensure that a certain level of fairness has been applied to the process.

   "We think a few more eyes on the subject makes for a better decision process. Listen, I want to thank those folks who take on recognition. It's not an easy job and they don't always have the information they need....so hopefully, this gives us more scrutiny and hopefully an easier time for the chairs," he said.

   After the All Conference teams have been selected, the recognition chairs and the WCLL organizing committee will pick the 'best-of-the-best" to send to the national WCLA board for consideration. The hope, Normand said, is to get the national recognition committee 'better information on a smaller number of select players."

   "It's kind of like advertising for the Heisman. We have good representation on the national level, but honestly, if your team doesn't make the national championship and you're a great player on an average team, you only have about a 15 percent chance of making All American and I think that's wrong," Normand said.

   All WCLL Division I entries should be sent to Dave McKinnon at gobluelax@gmail.com and all WCLL Division II entries to Kim Crum at kkerekes@gmail.com. The dates for submission will be posted in about two weeks.

ALL WCLA PLAYERS NEED TO JOIN USL, BUT THERE IS A PRICE BREAK

By Gina Kolata

   NEW YORK - All playing members of the WCLA are required by rule to be members of US Lacrosse. The new policy went into effect last year and USL realized that young college students need a price break, so if you are registering for the upcoming 2017 spring season take note.

   A new USL-WCLA membership comes with a reduction in price if you know the secret word. When registering on the USL website, WCLA subcommittee members, said new members can enter wcla_2017 during registration to save $15. The normal cost for USL membership is $50 and the reduced rate is $35 if you use the WCLA code. If you have already registered for the 2017 spring season, there is no rebate for paying the higher fee, WCLA subcommittee members said.

WEBSITE COMPLIANCE SET

By Lester Holt

   SPARKS, MARYLAND - The WCLA governance is 'cracking down a bit,' on the use or non-use of the WCLA website, said members of the WCLA governing subcommittee. The WCLA website has been in existence for two years, entering its third year, and the national subcommittee is hoping to get a larger percentage of member teams involved in the process. The national subcommittee has mandated some basic rules for using the site and requirements by member teams who compete in the WCLA.

   The national subcommittee is now requiring all WCLA teams to input six categories on the website if they want to be eligible for post-season honors or the WCLA National Championships,' said Liz Holmes, the WCLA subcommittee president.

   The required areas of information for the WCLA website are:

1. Register for the WCLA website.

2. Provide a complete game schedule.

3. Provide a list of team contacts.

4. Provide a map or list where home games are played.

5. Provide a complete roster on the website.

6. Provide statistics for each player for games played.

  The idea to provide the basic information to improve communications between teams, said WCLA subcommittee spokesman. Teams can register on the WCLA website at wcla.us and there is an 18-minute tutorial to assist you through the registration process. You can manage your team page once registered and the WCLA webmaster has granted access to your specific pages. Another aspect of registering is providing an online game schedule. After entering games online, opponents for each game must accept the game for it to appear on the WCLA website. Team contacts and game locations must be listed for the obvious reasons and rosters should be completed as part of the registration process. If you fail to observe these five requirements, teams will not be invited to the WCLA national championships, which this year are expected to be played in Salt Lake City, Utah.

   The biggest area of concern for the WCLA subcommittee on reporting is statistics. If teams want players to be considered for post-season recognition, they must complete a stats sheet for every game covering field players that include ground balls, draw controls, goals, assists, yellow & red cards and forced turnovers. The categories for goalies will include goals against and saves. There art of calculating stats is a often argued point and USL will provide a basic definition for each category before the start of the season.

WCLL OFFICIAL GAME ASSIGNERS HAVE CHANGED FROM LAST YEAR FOR DI

By Phyllis Steen

   PITTSBURGH - The assigners for WCLL women's lacrosse games have changed coming into the new year, so the league board is asking club presidents and coaches to please check and make sure you know who is assigning your team this fall and spring for home games. The new head WCLL assigner is M.J. Evagash (refmj4481@gmail.com), who is based on Pittsburgh. The other assigners include Leslie Porteous (les.porteous@gmail.com), who is based in Indiana and last year's head WCLL assigner, and Scott McPeake(scott@madebymydad.com), who is based in Michigan.

   Any questions or concerns about assigning WCLL games can be directed at the specific assigner by email for the moment, said WCLL officials, and telephone numbers will be released in late October. Any specific problems with officials should be directed to your local assigner first, and then to the head assigner, who will contact the WCLL subcommittee for consideration.

The new WCLL assignments include:

Division 1: Scott McPeake

University of Michigan, Michigan State University, Central Michigan University.

Division 1 - M.J. Evagash

University of Pittsburgh, University of Buffalo, West Virginia University, Ohio University, Duquesne University, Miami of Ohio, Ohio State University, Marquette University, Northwestern University, University of Minnesota, University of Wisconsin-Madison.

Division 1 - Les Porteous

University of Illinois, Indiana University, Purdue University, University of Notre Dame, University of Kentucky, University of Louisville.

The new WCLL D2 assignments include:

Division 2: Scott McPeake

Oakland University, Grand Valley University, Eastern Michigan University, Western Michigan University, Saginaw Valley University, Ferris State University, Toledo University, Bowling Green University.

Division 2 - M.J. Evagash

University of Dayton, Xavier University, Marshall University, Carnegie Mellon University, Grove City College, Slippery Rock University, Indiana University of Pennsylvania, Case Western University, Augustana College, Wheaton College, University of Chicago, Lake Forest College, DePaul University.   

Division 2 - Les Porteous

Butler University, Saint Louis University, Grace College, Taylor University, Ball State University, Bethel College, Rose Hulman.

WCLL BOARD CONTACTS

Greg Normand

WCLL President - Michigan State

Phone: 1 (248) 425-2849 gnormand7@att.net

Gary Neft

WCLL DI Rankings Pittsburgh

Phone: 412-287-5985 garylax@aol.com

Sam Micili

WCLL At Large Board Oakland

Phone: 248-930-4050 oaklandlax@aol.com

Gina Fuga

WCLL Student Rep Central Michigan

Phone: 586-850-0813 gfuga89@gmail.com

Chris Carter

WCLL VP - Treas. Toledo

Phone: 419-283-2098 chcarter@hotmail.com

Towbey Kassa

WCLL DII RANKINGS - OAKLAND

Phone: 248-379-5153 oaklandlax@aol.com

Kimberly Crum

WCLA Rep - DII Recognition Western Michigan

Phone: 269-832-6366 kkerekes@gmail.com

Erica Diclemente

WCLL Student Rep Michigan State

Phone: 248-930-6283

2017 WCLA CONTACTS DII

WCLL TEAMS Division POSITION NAME EMAIL PHONE NUMBER
DePaul University D2 President Michelle Staten mnstaten@yahoo.com 314-520-7125
Vice President Clare Galbo 15cgalbo@gmail.com 716-207-8729
Treasurer Obi Nwachukwu obi.nwachukwu17@gmail.com 331-205-0368
Coach Julia Millon jslmillon@gmail.com 781-439-1868
Team Email depaulwlax@gmail.com
Grand Valley State D2 President Bekah Suttner suttnerr@mail.gvsu.edu 616 745-3223
Vice President Lauren Mann mannl@mail.gvsu.edu 248-763-9976
Treasurer Kelsy Hoemke hoemkek@mail.gvsu.edu 248-520-2239
Apparel Karlee Hale halek@mail.gvsu.edu 517-648-8832
Social Media Brinn Beltzer beltzerb@mail.gvsu.edu 517-285-6329
Fundraising Jillian Davis davisjil@mail.gvsu.edu 989-860-8027
Fundraising Madison Moss mossmad@mail.gvsu.edu 734-837-0084
Coach Kate Mitteer mitteerk@mail.gvsu.edu  616-581-2545
Coach Kara Hogan karajhogan@gmail.com  248-444-1004
Slippery Rock University D2 President Jessica Kuntz jek1012@sru.edu 717-824-0710
Vice President Bridget Nguyen bxn1010@sru.edu 412-477-0659
Treasurer Lindsi Gamble ltg1003@sru.edu 724-263-9596
Secretary Marisa Balcarcel mkb1011@sru.edu 347-585-2613
Materials Jordan Taylor jlt1023@sru.edu 724-944-0962
Taylor University D2 President Jessica Kuniholm jessica_kuniholm@taylor.edu 703-946-6193
Vice President Madeleine Burkholder madeleine_burkholder@taylor.edu 317-373-5725
Team Email tulacrosse@taylor.edu
Grove City College D2 Coach-Captain Anna Jorgenson JorgensonAM1@gcc.edu 207-409-9822
Coach-Captain Raquel Fereshetian FereshetianRL1@gcc.edu 215-917-4004
Augustana College D2 President Nora Graehling noragraehling13@augustanaÆedu 224-392-9521
Treasurer Sarah Baker (970) 318-6803
Secretary Christina Sauer 708) 209-6967
Fundraising Marissa Neradt 630) 945-6452
Ball State University D2 President Katie Erber klerber@bsu.edu 734-645-4074
Vice President Laura Heritz bsuwomenslax@gmail.com 574-220-9389
Vice President Madeleine Muller bsuwomenslax@gmail.com 224-422-6460
Team Email bsuwomenslax@gmail.com
Eastern Michigan University D2 President Hayley Peach hpeach@emich.edu 723-223-8750
Vice President Lauren Mali lmali@emich.edu 248-977-9100
Treasurer Fariha Anika fanika@emich.edu 419-787-7770
Coach Christine DiLisio CDiLisio@bcbsm.com 517-404-0151
Butler University D2 President Rachel Gates rgates@butler.edu 440-308-9031
Carnegie Mellon University D2 President Hadley Killen hkillen@andrew.cmu.edu 714-425-0250
Vice President Julia Adams jladams@andrew.cmu.edu 267-337-1492
Treasurer Sally Guo siqig@andrew.cmu.edu
Coach Sarah Duncan sduncan@andrew.cmu.edu 718-710-6175
Rose-Hulman Institute D2 President Mary La Dine ladinema@Rose-Hulman.edu 302-535-6409
Vice President Katie Lee leekf@rose-hulman.edu 206-948-4718
Treasurer Caroline Johnson johnsocg@rose-hulman.edu 571-226-7744
Sport Advisor Jordan Barrett barrett1@rose-hulman.edu 812-201-7903
University of Dayton D2 President Kerry E. Connolly connollyk3@udayton.edu 443-340-9592
Marshall University D2 President Claudia Lea lea4@marshall.edu 803-479-5858
Vice President Mary Kate Miller miller906@marshall.edu 859-582-5661
Treasurer Anna Maria Firth firth@marshall.edu 304-767-0581
Secretary Brandi Richmond richmond78@marshall.edu 304-975-0012
Social Secretary Jordan Smith smith2170@marshall.edu 540-597-2566
Lake Forest College D2 President Lexi Bruni bruniav@mx.lakeforest.edu 480-845-8787
Butler University D2 President President - Rachel Gates rgates@butler.edu
Vice President Vice President - Katelyn Spencer kaspenc@butler.edu 
Treasurer Kelsie Bergman   knbergma@butler.edu 8125985600
Non-Coach Shelley Etiner setiner@butler.edu 3179409748
University of Chicago D2 Captain Alexa Bieler abieler@uchicago.edu 201-663-3327
Assistant Captain Katie Mott katherinemott@uchicago.edu 952-913-6429
Oakland University D2 President Nicky Cox nmcox@oakland.edu
Vice President Dakota Coats dccoats@oakland.edu
Treasurer Faith Rooney fnrooney@oakland.edu
Secretary Emilee Smock emsmock@oakland.edu
Coach Towbey Kassa oaklandlax@aol.com
Bethel College D2 Coach Scott Holmes Scott.holmes@bethelcollege.edu 574-849-4022
Saginaw State University D2 President President    emknowle@svsu.edu 810-875-5376
Vice President Darian Seifert    Drseifer@svsu.edu 989-948-8144
Treasurer Monika Sedik   mlsedik@svsu.edu 248-756-2510
Secretary Brooklynne Toombs brtoombs@svsu.edu 810-417-1967
Illinois State University D2 President Martha Venchus Mlvench@ilstu.edu 630-908-0795
Vice President Alex Keane           akeane@ilstu.edu 708-285-3429
Coach Andy Grisinger biggrizz@comcast.net 970-405-8800
University of Toledo D2 President AJ Spolsky alyssa.spolsky@rockets.utoledo.edu 313-820-3709
Coach Chris Carter chrchcarter@hotmail.com
Case Western College D2 Captain Sabra Funderburg sdf23@case.edu 740-972-8195
Vice President Gabriella Fioravanti gxf53@case.edu 201-301-5693
Treasurer Nicole Thiel nat37@case.edu 716-392-7418
Secretary Meredith Gray mcg106@case.edu 215-896-6784
Xavier University D2 President Mikaela Dougherty doughertym1@gmail.com 908-455-1093
Vice President Fay Vido vidof@xavier.edu 513-302-1841
Treasurer Acacia Galle gallea@xavier.edu 203-556-4323
Secretary Mary Fanning fanningm2@xavier.edu 216-644-5026
Indiana University of Pennsylvania D2 President McKenna Magyar fbht@iup.edu 570-939-5626
Western Michigan University D2 Coach Kim Crum kkerekes@gmail.com 269-832-6366