skip navigation


    Welcome to WCLA for 2017-2018

      Welcome to the Women's Collegiate Lacrosse Associates 2017-2018 website, a communication tool for student-athletes, coaches, fans and interested spectators to know more about our college club lacrosse league. Our WCLA league website was designed and will be utilized to provide a communication highway for teams competing across the continental United States. We hope the website provides you with the information you are seeking because it's the mission of the WCLA to promote the growth of women's lacrosse nationwide. Specifically, the WCLA strives to provide an infrastructure in which collegiate clubs will compete and eventually crown a national champion. Leadership opportunities exist on the local, regional and national levels as WCLA is a representation of teams at all levels. WCLA members are then encouraged to give back to the lacrosse community by joining the umpiring, coaching and post-collegiate club communities. The WCLA is a division of US Lacrosse. As you know, it is mandatory this year to register with the national WCLA website and to enter your games, roster, home field and any other vital information that might assist those trying to find you. The entire process is painless and takes less than an hour. We hope you find the site useful.


    SPARKS, Md. (Dec. 11, 2017) – US Lacrosse announced today that the 2018 WCLA Division I and II National Championships will be played at the new Round Rock Multipurpose Complex, located about 15 miles north of Austin in the Central Texas hill country.

    Dates for the 2018 championship tournament are May 9-12. All tournament games will be played at the new 60-acre venue that features five natural grass fields, five turf fields, abundant on-site parking, Musco sports lighting, a restroom/concessions building, meeting rooms, and additional spectator amenities.


    For the full article on WCLA click here or check out the article on US Lacrosse by clicking here

    Team Application and Individual Membership information now available

    The 2018 WCLA team application and individual US Lacrosse membership information can now be found on the membership page


    2018 Roster Verification Form

    The 2018 roster verification form can be found on the membership page. Below the article you will find links for the form in word or PDF format. For those who have never filled out the form, there is a sample available as well. 

    Looking for other places to play?

    Check out the events page to view tournaments that are still accepting teams. 

    WCLA 2018 Playing Rules

    Please read the article below for the 2018 updates. You may also download a PDF copy of the updates from the link below this article. 


    Please see the for complete rule set and revisions for 2018.

    ** NOTE: To receive a HARD copy of the Rules, please select the NFHS Rule book option when renewing your membership. You must renew as both a player and coach to receive this option. **

    Section 1: Notable playing rule changes for ALL 2018 scholastic play:

    1. Players sticks may touch the ground over the restraining line on the draw they still may not cross the line until possession is established if doing so would constitute more than 3 players for that team between the restraining lines.

    2. The sticks on the draw must be fully parallel and within the vertical plane of the center line.

    3. Stick stringing specifications have moved from a technical standard to performance standard.

    Section 2 : Rules specific to WCLA play:
    (Rule 1 is new for 2018)

    1. Yellow cards are releasable until the 4th card and all subsequent cards which are non-releasable. Team card counts do not apply to play down. Individual card counts do apply.

    2. Players on the defending team in their defensive end of the field may run through or remain in the goal circle when their team is in possession of the ball. Defenders within the goal circle may only play the ball if they are wholly grounded (eg., Both feet within the goal circle). Defenders must immediately leave the goal circle when their team loses possession of the ball.

    3. Goalkeeper is exempt from shooting space outside of the goal circle.

    4. Horizontal Stick/Illegal Contact: Initiating crosse-to-body contact with the crosse parallel to the ground (9 and 3 o’clock) and hands apart.

    5. A player may reach into the sphere to make a safe check. Checks must be controlled, not intimidating or dangerous.

    6. Games between DI teams must be played with two, 30-minute stop-clock halves.

    7. All other games shall be a minimum of two 30-minute running clock halves with a stop clock on whistles in the last two minutes of each half. (Unless there is a 10-goal differential).

    8. Each team shall be allowed 3 timeouts during regulation time. Each team shall be allowed 1 timeout during overtime.

    9. All tie games at the end of regulation shall be resolved using USL overtime procedures for sudden victory.

    10. The WCLA National Tournament will use 30-minute stop clock halves.

    11. Leg and thigh padding is not required for goalkeepers.

    12. NCAA uniform regulations shall be used.

    For operational guidelines, player eligibility rules, or specific questions regarding the WCLA, please email: or visit